Why I choose the Vegan ‘way of life’

Straight up, I  did it for the animals… but the health and weight loss aspect of it just fell into place afterwards.

Growing up I was always a huge animal lover, always pretending to be wolves or certain animals when I played as a kid. I was always very touched by the love of animals. My love for animals grew more and more as I got older, but I never put eating them and loving them together…. Eating meat and dairy was just a way of life, it’s how I was brought up… It’s all I knew.

I grew up in a German household, well my mom and brother are German, my dad was born and raised Canadian… but my mom was the one who cooked the most and influenced me the most. As a German-Canadian pretty much every single meal I had consisted of Dairy, meat or both! It wasn’t until 7th grade, when I was 12 years old that I learnt about ‘vegetarians’. I remember struggling with eating meat/dairy from the moment I learn about it. Finally I decided to go ‘vegetarian’. This lasted about a year. It was great because my mom was supportive and would cook the family meals separately, (ie: if she made chili, she made a batch for me with no meat).  The hard part about being vegetarian at that point in my life, was when I went out with friends… if we were at the mall there really didn’t seem to be many appealing options. Of course, there were always salad options… but honestly I was not always feeling a salad. Who would want a salad at age 12 when all your friends are having hamburgers and chicken fingers ect… So after a year I gave it up.

Throughout my whole life after that year I constantly was on and off again vegetarian. I really struggled with weight issues/eating disorders, so when you are force fed the idea that you have to eat lots of meat/protein to stay skinny, I was always drawn back into the meat/dairy lifestyle… I would do anything to stay skinny… so eating meat seemed to be the best way.

My friends can tell you many stories of weekends where I would be like “I’m never eating meat again!!!” only to join them for a dinner sunday night which always consisted of lots of meat and lots of dairy.

It wasn’t until September 27th, 2015, that I finally decided to cut not just meat out, but to cut out all animal products. I honestly think the fact that I didn’t cut every thing out before is what caused me to fail… I always looked at Instagram profiles of vegans and dreamed to be like them. Never thought I could do it.

From the year after my first vegetarian attempt (age 12) to September 27th (age 27), I had struggled with eating disorders which caused me to loose a lot of weight and then I binge ate and packed on the pounds twice as fast. I remember the day so well, I was searching on youtube for some new diet or any help, since I just couldn’t loose any weight. That’s when I came across High Carb Hannah… You gotta check her out. It was like she was talking directly to me. Her story sounded just like mine.  She struggled with being addicted to appetite suppressants, just like me. Her body type was so similar to mine. She partied a lot, just like I did. Everything about her, just seemed like it was a mirror of me.

High Carb Hannah introduced the vegan, high-carb-low-fat lifestyle. It was EXACTLY opposite way of living than I grew up knowing. I’ll explain more in detail next post.

Anyways, what I was trying to say is… I became vegan first and foremost for the animals but also once I learnt how healthier it was to eat plant based, it then became also for health. Loosing weight was just a bonus!!!

Do it for the animals, do it for yourself.

 

Much Love,

DeKay ❤

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

